Upcoming

Health

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

                                                       

 

Managing your mental and physical health is probably an area that has been neglected while you were in the caring role.  Carers often experience isolation which can affect mental health and physical health can be affected through injury or chronic illness. Sometimes carers’ health will improve when the caring role has ended, but for others it will mean the onset of illness. (Carers NSW)

Often managing health is about having a range of tools or strategies that promote wellness and enablement. The Driving Wheel contains 12 of these tools that can influence us. The Driving Wheel is designed to be the starting point and provides ‘food for thought’.

Useful health websites include the following:

Better Health Channel, Healthy Living: http://www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au/bhcv2/bhcarticles.nsf/pages/healthy_l...
Stanford University, Achieving your smart health goal: https://bewell.stanford.edu/smart-goals
SA Health, Top Tips for Living Healthy: http://www.sahealth.sa.gov.au/wps/wcm/connect/public+content/sa+health+i...
Diabetes SA: http://www.diabetessa.com.au/
Asthma Australia: http://www.asthmaaustralia.org.au/
Australian Government, Department of Health: http://www.health.gov.au/internet/main/publishing.nsf/Content/chronic
Better Health Channel, Chronic Disease: http://www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au/bhcv2/bhcarticles.nsf/pages/Chronic_i...
Heart Foundation: http://www.heartfoundation.org.au/your-heart/Pages/default.aspx
Sane, Healthy Living:  http://www.sane.org/information/factsheets-podcasts/660-healthy-living
Cancer Australia, Lifestyle & Risk Reduction: http://canceraustralia.gov.au/healthy-living/lifestyle-risk-reduction  
Health Direct Australia: http://www.healthdirect.gov.au/healthy-living
Doctors in Adelaide: http://healthengine.com.au/find/Doctor/Adelaide/
Arthritis SA: http://www.arthritissa.org.au/
Osteoporosis Australia: http://www.osteoporosis.org.au/
Lung Foundation Australia, resources: http://lungfoundation.com.au/patient-area/resources/
Kidney Health Australia: http://www.kidney.org.au/kidneydisease/tabid/578/default.aspx
Black Dog Institute, Depression: http://www.blackdoginstitute.org.au/public/Depression/depressionexplaine...